>> Home
The Kerala State Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Bank Ltd, (then Kerala Cooperative Central Land Mortgage Bank) established in 1956, with the avowed purpose of catering the long term agricultural credit needs of the farmers in the state; is the apex financial institution organized under federal structure, having 63 Primary Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Banks as its members functioning at Taluk level. The KSCARDBank has always been in the forefront of committed activities aimed at bettering the social scenario of the village community. The enactment of KSCARD Banks Act 1984 gave fillip to streamline and diversify its activities to achieve the prime objective of comprehensive agricultural and rural development as envisaged by nation builders. 

The origin of the Bank goes back to 1931 with the formation of 'State Land Mortgage Bank' at the erstwhile Travancore State followed by the organization of Travancore Credit Bank in 1938 and The Kerala Cooperative Central Land Mortgage Bank in 1956. Over the years, the land mortgage Banks have diversified its activities extensively in Agricultural, Industrial Services and Business sectors and the nomenclature of the bank has also changed accordingly to ‘Land Development Bank’ and later on to ‘Agricultural and Rural Development Bank’. 

The KSCARDB being the apex co-operative institution registered under Kerala Co-operative Societies Act 1969; its operations are regulated by the Kerala State Cooperative Agricultural and Rural Development Act 1984 and the Rules and bye laws framed there under.